Spencer Johnson’s “The Present”; The Secret To Enjoying Your Work And Life, Now!

In Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets book Dumbledore announces while being forced to leave Hogwarts that “Help will be given to those at Hogwarts who ask for it”. I have found that it is true for me in a different way. It seems as though some unseen identity has decided that “Help would be given to me through books whenever I need it and am ready for it”. It has happened to me before and it has happened again. I have been reading “The Present” by Spencer Johnson for quite some time now but I was reading it in bits and pieces. I did not finish it till recently and probably it was good because I was not ready for it.

The book is about how we should live in the present moment and how that can help us to be happier and more effective. It talked about learning from past and also planning for future. I was reading it with a bit of scepticism since these are very common sensical thoughts and I had read them before in many other books. But recently I finished reading the book and the final words made the true difference for me. In the end the book says that “Realize your purpose and explore ways to make your work and life more meaningful”. Once again it is not something new but it made great sense to me in the current situation. Any planning, living in the present or learning from past can be futile if you do not have or follow a purpose in life.

This is a very simple and short book like others from the same author and he has put his thoughts in a form of a very simple story. Actually, it can be read in one sitting. But I think it was good that I read the book over many weeks and slowly grasped it.

2 Comments

Filed under Self-Help

2 responses to “Spencer Johnson’s “The Present”; The Secret To Enjoying Your Work And Life, Now!

  1. Satheesh

    When the emphasis is on living in the present, I recollect a quote from an ex-colleague (Ranka/Priyank?). A person who thinks he will work now & enjoy later, will always work and a person who thinks he will enjoy now & work later, will always enjoy. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

