Reading A Lot But Still So Less

When I started writing on this blog, I felt that I am very well read and I will be able to write about many books that I have read over the years. I also wanted to read other blogs on books and see what are the bloggers saying about the books that I have read or written about. What I discovered truly amazed me. Except for few very popular books, I found that bloggers were writing about books that I had never even heard of. This realization that there are so many more books in the world to read is the topic here.

I did a bit of search on Internet and came across a study conducted by Google that says that there are 130 Million books in the world. They did this study while taking up the project of providing all these books online. So there goes my idea of well read person. Even if I were to spend my whole life reading and not doing anything else, it is impossible to read even a small fraction of this number. Of course, it is not worth reading all of them but still there will be so many of them that I would want to read.

I then checked the top 10 most read books in the world. Here the situation was a bit better. Based on the list that I found on a website, I have read 5 of them which is not bad. I am sure if I continue to search on top 100 or top 1000 list, my reading percentage will keep on coming down. I guess in the end the number of books matters less but what matters is how these books influenced and helped us and whether we enjoyed reading them or not.

Still I should try to read at least the top 10 or top 100 most well read books in the world. Here is the list of top 10 most well read books that I found. I have marked in bold the ones that I have read.

The Bible, Little Red Book, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, The Alchemist, The Da Vinci code, Twilight – The Saga, Gone with the Wind, Think and grow Rich, Diary of Anne Frank

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reading

Leave a Reply

