Teenage Romance, Vampires In Stephenie Meyer’s “Twilight”

I picked up this book after reading about it a lot everywhere. It was from a new author I did not know and genre did not interest me much. But the book turned out to be a good read, though I did not become a big fan of the series. Twilight, as everyone knows is the story of romance between teenage girl Bella Swan and Vampire Edward Cullen which starts when Bella joins her father in Folks, Washington to pursue her college studies.

I am not very fond of the concept of blood drinking vampires and that premise did not excite me much. The Cullen family has all the vampires who have learnt to live amongst the humans without harming them and they take care of their needs through hunting. But they still remain Vampires running away from sunlight and still turning vicious at the smell of blood.

What excited me though was the brutal romance between Bella and Edward. I say brutal because I cannot think of any other word to describe it. In the beginning when Bella sits next to Edward in class, he is traumatized by his urge to drink her blood and has to control himself and Bella even after knowing that he is Vampire continues to be with him because she cannot help it at all. It is a self-destructive love brutally attracting them towards each other.

The strong undercurrent and unstated violence in their romance is the beauty of this book. He is powerful and she is fearless. He is hunter and she is food. He can kill her in a minute but it is she who torments him all the time.

I think I would have liked this book even if the violence was suggested without bringing in the vampires but the world has liked it this way. I watched the movie as well and it was impressive though it did not capture the romance of the book.

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Romantic

2 responses to “Teenage Romance, Vampires In Stephenie Meyer’s “Twilight”

  1. After seeing your impressive list of books, I had to check out your opinion about this series. I thought I was the only one who read Tolstoy or John Steinbeck and could still appreciate the appeal of the crazy Twilight thing.
    Nothing wrong with some easy reading once in a while!

    Like

    • pkg

      Thanks. Yes, it is always good to do some light reading as well. It is fun and some parts in these books are brilliantly written as well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

