“Ignorance” A Great Concept by Milan Kundera

I normally write about books that I have finished reading, but today I am going to write about a book that I have just picked up for reading. The book is “Ignorance” by “Milan Kundera”. I have read few of Milan Kundera’s books in the past and I have always liked his way of writing and the way he brings out many interesting concepts. Sometimes his books may be difficult to interpret but once I get the hang of it, the result is great.

In this book “Ignorance”, he has handled the concept of absence, memory, forgetting and ignorance. I have been always fascinated by these concepts. I have really believed that “Ignorance is bliss” contrary to what today’s generation believes who wants to know everything all the time. “Absence” of something can only be realized only if you have known the “presence”.

Human memory is probably most complex and most difficult concept. It is not same as computer memory. There is no standard for human memory. We do not store facts, we store perceptions and our mind keeps on leaking the memory with time. All the human beings in the world may see a same event but all of them will store different perceptions in their memory.

I guess I am also “forgetting” something here. But I do not know what it is. Maybe I will let it go.

I really do not know how Milan Kundera has handled these concepts in this book. I am sure I will have something very interesting to write once I finish reading the book.

2 Comments

Filed under Fiction

2 responses to ““Ignorance” A Great Concept by Milan Kundera

  1. This does sound like a wonderful concept for a book. I’ve always been fascinated with how the mind organizes and stores what we know. AND I agree with you about the saying “Ignorance is bliss” being a relatively true statement.

    Like

    • pkg

      I did finish reading this book and he has handled this concept very well in the book. Mind is really complex and each and every person’s mind stores same information in different way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

