“The Medici Effect” by Frans Johansson

This book needs a special mention because this was the first non-technical book after reading which I felt like sharing it with my professional colleagues. Till I read this book, I used to read for my personal pleasure and knowledge. But when I read this book, my first thought was to share it with others. I have over the years done discussions with my colleagues on this book but still I feel that I have understood very little part of the whole concept till now.

The main idea of the book is “Intersections” where knowledge from different fields, cultures can come together to create innovations that were never thought of earlier. The idea though seems simple, is very difficult to practice in life. We are all so much constrained by our own limitations and viewpoints that to see beyond the obvious is not easy. Once you read an Intersectional idea it seems very natural but to be able to generate ideas that are truly Intersectional requires hard work and understanding of various fields and cultures.

Sometimes I think that these are the books that should be read by people who define our education system so that they can expose young minds to variety of experiences from the childhood. But that does not happen. By the time a person is mature enough to come across this book and read about intersection, he or she is so much trained to think in one particular way that to shake it off takes a life time. We have divided our education system neatly into engineering, science, arts, economics and then we have done further sub-divisions and sub-sub-sub-divisions till we study a miniscule part of whole knowledge that is available.

What if an engineering student could appreciate a painting as much as a building? What if a dancer could appreciate rocket science? What if a banker could understand agriculture? What if a chef could be a chemical engineer? What if a musician could scale mountains? What if the politician could be a common man? This last one is really not intersectional but sometimes you wish certain things were possible.

I don’t think that I have done full justice to what could be written about this book and I will come back with more. What an irony? My spell check on blog says “Intersectional” is not a word 😦

14 Comments

Filed under Non-Fiction

14 responses to ““The Medici Effect” by Frans Johansson

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Like

  2. Anonymous

    Howdy analyzing this topic was indeed very exciting , texts like this give motivation who watchs this blog:/

    Like

  3. kkps

    Man! You have read so much! I am missing out a lot after having stopped reading books! – I am now thinking about … first I had to concentrate on my studies, get a job … then there was some time to read … then came family … I do not know when I can read again … The old Hindu ‘life stage’ called sanyasa ………

    Like

    • pkg

      I guess “sanyasa” has come a bit early for me giving me more time to read. It is good and bad both. But I have not read much. There is still so much to read and learn.

      Like

  4. Poker

    very good publish, i actually love this web site, keep on it

    Like

  5. Anonymous

    Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I am experiencing difficulty with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting equivalent rss drawback? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

    Like

  6. shooting games

    Hello! I just would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great info you’ve got right here on this post. I might be coming back to your weblog for extra soon.

    Like

  7. acne treatment

    very nice publish, i actually love this website, carry on it

    Like

  8. free classifieds india

    Important point you make there. but i actually do not fully agree with you on this. also things are a bit evolved nowadays.

    Like

Leave a Reply

