Eat, Pray, Love

This is probably one of those books on which so many things have already been written. I am not sure if I can add anything new to that, but if I were to write about books and not mention this then it will not be fair. I came across Elizabeth Gilbert through one of her talks on TED.com. I was impressed as well as intrigued by her presentation and it was then that I decided to read this book.

What I liked best about the book was the style in which it was written. It is like a daily journal of a woman who must have gone through some difficult times. I read it last year when my state of mind was also similar to hers. There is a sense of integrity in the book which I like very much. Since she mentioned so much about 108 beads, I actually counted the beads on the “Prayer Mala” of the photograph on the cover of the book and was surprised to find the number correct.

One of the most important impact of the book on me was to my approach to meditation. I had tried meditation sometimes and always I had found myself drifting in thoughts after few moments. I had known that it is not easy thing to do. When I read about her trials with meditation in Indian Ashram, it somehow motivated me towards meditation. I could understand the struggle that I go through while trying meditation and I felt that it is part of journey and it is ok to feel that way. Still it is important to continue trying.

I found the book to be a very interesting story and at the same time it is one of the best self-help books that I have come across in recent times. But I still wonder why it is kept in travel section in most of the book shops.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Eat, Pray, Love

  1. pkg

    Reblogged this on I and Books and commented:

    Re-blogging

    Like

  2. I agree! I enjoyed the book, relished the eating, and learned a lot from the prayer. The movie totally did justice to the food, but not so much to the meditation. Have you seen the movie?

    Like

Leave a Reply

