Jeeves and PG Wodehouse

This is one author where I have taken maximum time in becoming a fan. I came across the name and books long time ago. Lot of my friends were reading Wodehouse and loving it. I think I borrowed some book at that time and probably tried reading it but I could not connect with the author at that time. Probably, I was not mature or was too mature to enjoy his reading at that time. It has happened to me with many authors where I have not liked them in first reading. The connection was not established. I think it is a kind of relationship not different from a dating. Sometimes it may not work and sometimes it may become a huge success with the same person at different time. I guess it depends on your mood, the kind of story you picked up, environment and the time you give to it.

After many years, I again tried my luck with Wodehouse last year. This time the connection got established immediately. I was immersed in the world of Jeeves and Wooster. The stories are epitome of comfort reading. The world of Wooster is so simple and yet full of adventures that it provides an almost soothing balm on today’s stressful life. The life for them revolves around friends, relatives, vacations, simple matters of heart, the simplest of pleasures and discomfort. Wooster likes his life to be predictable, simple and full of pride. But the world around him constantly challenges him in achieving this goal and his valet Jeeves is always there to help provided his master agrees to his demands in terms of clothing and other artistic tastes.

Sometimes when a story starts, you feel that this is too simplistic and in fact try to guess the outcome but Wodehouse always manages to surprise you. I feel that writing complex stories involving spies, weapons, nations etc is probably much more easy as compared to writing something so very simple. The story could be so simple where they are trying to get rid of a difficult guest at friend’s house or trying to make sure that a particularly difficult kid is not having fun at their expense or trying to get away from one of the relatives. The theme is similar but variations are endless.

I have finally become a fan of Wodehouse in last few months. I try to keep at least one new book at my bedside. There are days when I don’t want to read anything complex or difficult. Reading a spy thriller or non-fictional book is not an option. What I want on these days is some simple story to provide me comfort. I will not be stressed about thinking of the end. And at such times I pick up Wodehouse and get myself immersed in the world of Wooster and Jeeves.

If you are looking for some comfort reading there is nothing that gets better than this even after so many decades.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Jeeves and PG Wodehouse

  1. pkg

    Reblogged this on I and Books and commented:

    Re-blogging. Some of these are refreshing even for me to read

    Like

  2. hitch mount bike rack

    You wrote some good parts here. I searched for the topic and found plenty of people who agree with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

